Home

That’s where I lost it,

my heart, that is, to a

younger self–taken by

blissful berry picking hands

and squeezed and put into

a pie, with other hearts. Let me tell you:

 

Time was blackberry bushes

and I was the sun,

shining, blaring,

blinking, straining

my light to reach

plastic buckets and red-juice

on the white socks and

peach hands.

 

I forget

my bones need grazing, need touch,

however porous the language, however exposed the film,

to remember how it

feels to be inexhaustible, how it

feels to burn for another.

Leave a Reply

